Filter by

Any questions?

contact@bs2bo.com

This week hand-picked selection

Browse by Theme

+ More themes

How it
works?

  • Stay connected all year to the literary world
     
  • Receive every week our selection of adaptable titles that will be published
     
  • Ask complete reading reports and manuscripts
     
  • Be introduced by BS2BO to audiovisual rights holder
     
  • Find your next story in the database of more than 8,000 titles
     

See Membership & Pricing

Available languages:

THE OPPOSITE OF A PERSON (working title)

Lieke Marsman

  • Original Title: HET TEGENOVERGESTELDE VAN EEN MENS
  • Publication date: June 2017
  • Publisher: Atlas Contact
  • Country: NL
  • 175 print pages
  • Drama

Information

  • Epoch: Contemporary
  • Time Period: 21st century
  • Location setting: Italy, Netherlands
  • Themes: FAMILY, Couple, Separation, Homosexuality, PEOPLE facing life, Facing failure, PEOPLE facing the extraordinary, Psychological dysfunction, SOCIETY DYSFUNCTIONS, Ecology, SOCIAL CHRONICLES, Commitment, LOVE / HATE, Obsession, Amorous urge, CHARACTERS, Minorities

Pitch

29-year-old Ida wants to become a climatologist. She obtains an internship in an Italian research institute tasked with the demolishing of a dam in the Alps. This mission forces her to leave her country and her girlfriend Robin behind. Ida reflects on love and global warming. What she wants to know is why we care so little about the world we live in.

Comments

Translation rights sold: France

Shortlisted for the ECI Literature Prize

Pitched for readers of Jenny Offill and Rachel Cusk.

Debut novel

Lieke Marsman (born in 1990) is considered one of greatest new voices in Dutch literature. She published her first poetry volume (THINGS THAT I TELL MYSELF) in 2010 when she was only 20 years old, and promptly won three poetry prizes. In 2018 she was diagnosed with bone cancer. In the months following the diagnosis she wrote THE FOLLOWING SCAN WILL LAST FIVE MINUTES, which was translated into English by poet Sophie Collins.

Summary

THE OPPOSITE OF A PERSON tells the story of Ida who is 29 and wants to become a climatologist. She obtains an internship in an Italian research institute tasked with the demolishing of a dam in the Alps. This mission forces her to leave her country and her girlfriend Robin behind. During her time away, Ida reflects on love and global warming. What she really wants to know is why we care so little about the world we live in. Blurring the lines of fiction, essay and poetry, this is a bold debut novel that explores the problems of climate change without ever being pessimistic or cynical.

Report available

go further

  • Author’s biography

    Lieke Marsman (born 1990) is considered one of greatest new voices in Dutch literature. She published her first poetry volume (THINGS THAT I TELL MYSELF) in 2010 when she was only 20 years old, and promptly won three poetry prizes. In 2018 she was diagnosed with bone cancer. In the months following the diagnosis she wrote THE FOLLOWING SCAN WILL LAST FIVE MINUTES, which was translated into English by poet Sophie Collins. HET TEGENOVERGESTELDE VAN EEN MENS (The Opposite of a Person) is her first novel and was shortlisted for the ECI Literature Prize.