Filter by

Any questions?

contact@bs2bo.com

This week hand-picked selection

Browse by Theme

+ More themes

How it
works?

  • Stay connected all year to the literary world
     
  • Receive every week our selection of adaptable titles that will be published
     
  • Ask complete reading reports and manuscripts
     
  • Be introduced by BS2BO to audiovisual rights holder
     
  • Find your next story in the database of more than 8,000 titles
     

See Membership & Pricing

Available languages:

WE ARE FIVE (working title)

Matias Faldbakken

  • Original Title: VI ER FEM
  • Publication date: October 2019
  • Publisher: FORLAGET OKTOBER
  • Country: NO
  • 205 print pages
  • Horror

Information

  • Epoch: Historical
  • Time Period: 21st century
  • Location setting: Norway
  • Themes: FAMILY, Paternity, PEOPLE facing life, Dependence, Facing failure, CHARACTERS, Atypical Character, Couple, Dysfunctional family, Maternity, Filiation, Moral dilemma, PEOPLE facing the extraordinary, Psychological dysfunction, Rivalry, SOCIETY DYSFUNCTIONS, Exclusion, Violence, Modernization, SOCIAL CHRONICLES, Social relations, Intolerance

Pitch

Tormod has left years of substance abuse behind him and is now a dependable family man. But he's convinced that the family needs a fifth member. His wife refuses to have another child, so he creates a new distraction: a piece of clay. In the process of feeding, molding, and caring for it, it slowly grows more animated. Things begin to go wrong when the lump ingests something other than earth - something human.

Comments

Translation rights sold: Germany, Italy, Czech Republic, Turkey

Pitched as a playful ode to rural novels of the past and modern-day cult horror in the vein of THE AMAZING ADVENTURES OF KAVALIER & CLAY and Stranger Things.

“Rural novel meets domestic thriller meets Mary Shelley’s FRANKENSTEIN. And with a shockingly good result. A truly original piece of writing.” - Jo Nesbø

Matias Faldbakken is a world-renowned contemporary artist and writer. He represented Norway at the 51st Venice Biennale, and has been exhibited around the world. THE HILLS (2018) was his first novel in nine years and the very first novel he wrote under his own name. It was longlisted for the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2019 and was shortlisted for Norway’s most prestigious literary award, the Brage Prize.

Summary

Tormod Blystad, WE ARE FIVE’s protagonist, has built a home for himself and his family on Råset, a barren plot of land three hours north of the Norwegian capital. Having left his years of substance abuse behind him, Tormod is now a dependable family man. But something is still missing, and Tormod is convinced that the family needs a fifth member. When his wife refuses to have another child, Tormod and the children settle for the next best thing: a dog. And for a while, there is peace. But when the dog goes missing under suspicious circumstances, the void must again be filled. To keep the family close, Tormod creates a new distraction - a piece of clay. In the process of feeding, molding, and caring for the clay, it slowly grows more animated, and soon it’s taken on the role of fifth family member. But somewhere along the way, things begin to go wrong. Maybe it was as early as when Tormod’s old co-abuser tempted him into a relapse, and the two added an experimental new substance into the clay. Or maybe it was when the lump first ingested something other than earth - something human.

Reports available
English translation available

go further

  • Author’s biography

    Matias Faldbakken is a world-renowned contemporary artist and writer. He represented Norway at the 51st Venice Biennale, and has been exhibited around the world. THE HILLS (2018) was his first novel in nine years and the very first novel he wrote under his own name. It was longlisted for the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award 2019 and was shortlisted for Norway’s most prestigious literary award, the Brage Prize.