Filter by

Any questions?

contact@bs2bo.com

This week hand-picked selection

Browse by Theme

+ More themes

How it
works?

  • Stay connected all year to the literary world
     
  • Receive every week our selection of adaptable titles that will be published
     
  • Ask complete reading reports and manuscripts
     
  • Be introduced by BS2BO to audiovisual rights holder
     
  • Find your next story in the database of more than 8,000 titles
     

See Membership & Pricing

Available languages:

THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY

Laura Steven (pseudonym: Laura Kirkpatrick)

  • Original Title: THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY
  • Publication date: March 2018
  • Publisher: Electric Monkey
  • Country: GB
  • 352 print pages
  • Dramedy

Information

  • Epoch: Contemporary
  • Time Period: 21st century
  • Location setting: United Kingdom
  • Themes: PEOPLE facing life, Life change, Facing failure, SOCIETY DYSFUNCTIONS, Modernization, SOCIAL CHRONICLES, Social relations, LOVE / HATE, Sex, Search for origins, PEOPLE facing the extraordinary, Manipulation, Rivalry, Power, Intolerance

Pitch

17-year-old Izzy O’Neill is an aspiring comedian/screenwriter who has never been ashamed of enjoying sex. When she hooks up with two guys in one night at a party, a vicious anonymous blog pops up online, featuring a torrent of abuse and stolen nude photos of Izzy. The blog and the photos threaten her chance of getting to college and Izzy has to try to keep her life together and find out who created the blog.

Comments

Winner of the inaugural Comedy Women in Print Prize 2019

Translation rights sold: US, Denmark, Nertherlands, Germany, Hungary, Russia, Turkey

Pitched for fans of Louise O'Neill, Holly Bourne and Amy Schumer.

US rights acquired at auction

Laura Steven (aka Laura Kirkpatrick) is a British author, journalist and screenwriter. She has had work published in The i Paper, Buzzfeed, and The Guardian. She has an MA in Creative Writing, and her TV pilot Clickbait reached the final eight in British Comedy's 2016 Sitcom Mission.

Summary

Izzy O’Neill is an aspiring comic, an impoverished orphan, and a Slut Extraordinaire. Or at least, that’s what the malicious website flying round the school says. Izzy can try all she wants to laugh it off – after all, her sex life, her terms – but when pictures emerge of her doing the dirty with a politician’s son, her life suddenly becomes the centre of a national scandal. Izzy’s never been ashamed of herself before, and she’s not going to start now. But keeping her head up will take everything she has...

go further

  • Author’s biography

    Laura Steven is a British author, journalist and screenwriter. She has had work published in The i Paper, Buzzfeed, and The Guardian. Her YA book THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF OKAY (written under the name Laura Steven) won the inaugural Comedy Women in Print Prize 2019 and was widely translated. She writes middle grade comedy under the pen name Laura Kirkpatrick. She has an MA in Creative Writing, and her TV pilot Clickbait reached the final eight in British Comedy's 2016 Sitcom Mission.