Filter by

Any questions?

contact@bs2bo.com

This week hand-picked selection

Browse by Theme

+ More themes

How it
works?

  • Stay connected all year to the literary world
     
  • Receive every week our selection of adaptable titles that will be published
     
  • Ask complete reading reports and manuscripts
     
  • Be introduced by BS2BO to audiovisual rights holder
     
  • Find your next story in the database of more than 8,000 titles
     

See Membership & Pricing

Available languages:

THE CORNER SHOP IN COCKLEBERRY BAY

Nicola May

  • Original Title: THE CORNER SHOP IN COCKLEBERRY BAY
  • Publication date: April 2018
  • Publisher: Amazon Media
  • Country: GB
  • 330 print pages
  • Dramedy

Information

  • Epoch: Contemporary
  • Time Period: 21st century
  • Location setting: United Kingdom
  • Themes: FAMILY, Intergenerational, Maternity, Family secrets, Adultery, PEOPLE facing life, Reinventing oneself, Life change, Facing failure, SOCIAL CHRONICLES, Social relations, Integration, Commitment, Friendship, LOVE / HATE, Amorous urge

Pitch

Rosa Larkin inherits a near-derelict corner shop in the middle of Devon from an anonymous benefactor with one proviso: she can’t sell it, only pass it on to somebody who deserves it.

Comments

Pitched for fans of Debbie Macomber and Milly Johnson.

The book Was #1 on Amazon Kindle UK.
Eye Books imprint Lightning has acquired World English rights for the print edition.

First part of trilogy with Book 2 due Spring 2019 and Book 3 due Autumn 2019

Nicola May is a British author of romantic comedies. Most of her books have been in the bestselling Kindle charts. THE SCHOOL GATES & CHRISTMAS YVES won awards for Best Author Published reads at the Festival of Romance in 2012 and 2014 respectively. LET LOVE WIN was also nominated in 2013.

Summary

Rosa Larkin is down on her luck in London, so when she inherits a near-derelict corner shop in a quaint Devon village, her first thought is to sell it for cash and sort out her life. But nothing is straightforward about this legacy. While the identity of her benefactor remains a mystery, he - or she - has left one important legal proviso: that the shop cannot be sold, only passed on to somebody who really deserves it.
Rosa makes up her mind to give it a go: to put everything she has into getting the shop up and running again in the small seaside community of Cockleberry Bay. But can she do it all on her own? And if not, who will help her succeed - and who among the following will work secretly to see her fail?
There is a handsome rugby player, a sexy plumber, a charlatan reporter and a selection of meddling locals. Add in a hit and run incident and the disappearance of a valuable engraved necklace – and what you get is a journey of self-discovery and unpredictable events.
With surprising and heartfelt results, Rosa, accompanied at all times by her little sausage dog Hot, will slowly unravel the shadowy secrets of the inheritance, and also bring her own, long-hidden heritage into the light.

Report available

go further