Filter by

Any questions?

contact@bs2bo.com

This week hand-picked selection

Browse by Theme

+ More themes

How it
works?

  • Stay connected all year to the literary world
     
  • Receive every week our selection of adaptable titles that will be published
     
  • Ask complete reading reports and manuscripts
     
  • Be introduced by BS2BO to audiovisual rights holder
     
  • Find your next story in the database of more than 8,000 titles
     

See Membership & Pricing

Available languages:

MARGARET BEAUFORT MYSTERY SERIES

Paul Doherty

  • Original Title: MARGARET BEAUFORT MYSTERY SERIES
  • Publication date: June 2018
  • Publisher: Severn House Publishers
  • Country: GB
  • 224 print pages
  • Historical

Information

  • Epoch: Historical
  • Time Period: 15th century
  • Location setting: United Kingdom
  • Themes: FAMILY, Maternity, Filiation, PEOPLE facing life, Life choice, PEOPLE facing the extraordinary, Manipulation, Conspiracy, Rivalry, SOCIETY DYSFUNCTIONS, Power, SOCIAL CHRONICLES, CHARACTERS, Strong Female Character, Facing failure, Commitment

Pitch

First in a brand-new historical mystery series featuring Margaret Beaufort, mother of King Henry VII and matriarch of the Tudor dynasty.

Comments

Translation rights sold: France, US

Pitched for fans of SJ Parris’ HERESY, AD Swanston’s THE INCENDIUM PLOT and for readers of Bernard Cornwell and Christopher Gortner.

Included in the Canongate new crime fiction imprint called Black Thorn

Paul Doherty has written over 100 books and was awarded the Herodotus Award, for lifelong achievement for excellence in the writing of historical mysteries by the Historical Mystery Appreciation Society. His books have been translated into more than twenty languages and include the historical mysteries of Brother Athelstan and Hugh Corbett.

Summary

May, 1471. The Wars of the Roses are reaching their bitter and bloody climax. Edward of York has claimed the English throne, and his supporters are extracting a savage revenge on all who supported the Lancastrian cause. Surrounded by enemies wherever she turns, the position of Margaret Beaufort, Countess of Richmond and mother to Henry Tudor, the last remaining hope of the House of Lancaster, is precarious to say the least.

Determined to protect her son whatever it takes, Margaret must rely on her sharp-witted clerk Christopher Ulswicke to be her eyes and ears. When four bodies are discovered in a London tavern, their throats slit, and Margaret herself is suspected of being behind the crime, it’s up to Ulswicke to prove his mistress’s innocence and unmask the real killer

go further

  • Author’s biography

    Paul Doherty has written over 100 books and was awarded the Herodotus Award, for lifelong achievement for excellence in the writing of historical mysteries by the Historical Mystery Appreciation Society. His books have been translated into more than twenty languages and include the historical mysteries of Brother Athelstan and Hugh Corbett.