Filter by

Any questions?

contact@bs2bo.com

This week hand-picked selection

Browse by Theme

+ More themes

How it
works?

  • Stay connected all year to the literary world
     
  • Receive every week our selection of adaptable titles that will be published
     
  • Ask complete reading reports and manuscripts
     
  • Be introduced by BS2BO to audiovisual rights holder
     
  • Find your next story in the database of more than 8,000 titles
     

See Membership & Pricing

Available languages:

THE STORM KEEPER’S ISLAND

Catherine Doyle

  • Original Title: THE STORM KEEPER’S ISLAND
  • Publication date: July 2018
  • Publisher: BLOOMSBURY
  • Country: GB
  • 320 print pages
  • Fantastic/Heroic Fantasy

Information

  • Epoch: Contemporary
  • Time Period: 21st century
  • Location setting: Ireland
  • Themes: FAMILY, Siblings, Intergenerational, Filiation, Mourning, PEOPLE facing life, Surpassing oneself, Life change, PEOPLE facing the extraordinary, Rivalry, SOCIAL CHRONICLES, Social relations, CHARACTERS, Child

Pitch

When Fionn stays with his grandfather on a remote Irish island, he learns that there is more to it than meets the eye and that it’s his destiny to overcome his fears and protect the magical place from the evil that threatens it.

Comments

Translation rights sold in 15 countries, including Germany (in a six-figure pre-empt, 2 book deal), Italy, France, Spain, Brazil, Turkey, Japan, Netherlands and Romania.

Translation rights sold for Book 2: Germany. Options in Brazil, France, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Croatia, Czech Republic, Greece, Japan, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Turkey.

April, 2019: Bloomsbury acquired 2 more titles in series.

Pitched for fans of Susan Cooper, Philippa Pearce, Kiran Millwood-Hargrave and Katherine Rundell, with shades of THE DARK IS RISING,

Book 2, THE LOST TIDE WARRIORS published in July 2019: a great sequel, which keeps the strong and compelling plot woven with Irish folklore.

Debut middle-grade novel.

Shortlisted for the 2019 Children's Book Award - category Older Readers

Catherine Doyle is an Irish writer, author of the VENDETTA young adult trilogy, which was sold in many countries.

Summary

Fionn Boyle and his older sister Tara have been sent to stay with their grandfather on the remote island of Arranmore for the summer. Though Fionn has never met his grandfather before – an eccentric old man who lives in a tiny cottage filled to the brim with candles – he knows he comes from a long line of brave lifeboat men, who wear the sea behind their eyes. Fionn is scared of the sea. He has no interest in adventure or shipwrecks or the restless wind that rustles through the island, as though in search of something. But an old magic is stirring deep inside the layers of Arranmore, and it is calling out to Fionn. A dark storm is coming, through time and over sea, the same storm that took his father twelve years ago. To protect his family, Fionn must embrace his destiny as the Storm Keeper's heir and face the fear that has haunted him for as long as he can remember …

Report available

go further