Filter by

Any questions?

contact@bs2bo.com

This week hand-picked selection

Browse by Theme

+ More themes

How it
works?

  • Stay connected all year to the literary world
     
  • Receive every week our selection of adaptable titles that will be published
     
  • Ask complete reading reports and manuscripts
     
  • Be introduced by BS2BO to audiovisual rights holder
     
  • Find your next story in the database of more than 8,000 titles
     

See Membership & Pricing

Available languages:

THE CARRIER

Mattias Berg

  • Original Title: DÖDENS TRIUMF
  • Publication date: August 2016
  • Publisher: ALBERT BONNIERS FORLAG
  • Country: SE
  • 643 print pages
  • Spy

Information

  • Epoch: Contemporary
  • Time Period: 21th century
  • Location setting: United States, Sweden
  • Themes: PEOPLE facing life, Moral dilemma, Double identity, PEOPLE facing the extraordinary, Conspiracy, SOCIETY DYSFUNCTIONS, Power, Ecology, Surpassing oneself, Life change, Search for the truth, Rivalry, War and other conflicts, SOCIAL CHRONICLES, Commitment, Loyalty, Manipulation, Violence

Pitch

A thriller described as “part Tom Clancy, part THE NAME OF THE ROSE” about what happens when the man who carries “the football”—the briefcase with the US president’s nuclear codes—goes missing.

Comments

Translation rights sold: UK, Italy, Estonia, Slovakia, Czech Republic, Germany
The English translation comes out in May 2019

This is fascinating and adaptable, bound to stir a lot. An intense thriller which is exciting and fast-paced. Extremely filmic.

Pitched as Mission Impossible meets the Hunt for Red October for fans of James Swallow and Tom Clancy.

Debut novel. Mattias Berg is a Swedish author. He studied journalism and literature, and has been a culture journalist since the late 1980s and worked at major Swedish newspapers, including Dagens Nyheter and Expressen.

Summary

Erasmus Levine has a job like no other. He travels with the President of the United States at all times, and holds in his hands the power to obliterate life as we know it. He is the man with the nuclear briefcase, part of a crack team of top-secret operatives established after 9/11 and led by a man codenamed Edelweiss. But even Edelweiss does not know the identity of their ultimate authority, known only as Sysboss.
Levine has a secret. For twelve years he has been receiving cryptic messages from Sysboss - an elaborate communication that began with the words We two against the world. Slowly but surely, Levine begins thinking of escape. His chance comes during an official visit to Sweden, when the alarm sounds in Stockholm’s Grand Hotel.
But Sysboss has other plans for him. From their first meeting in a network of tunnels and bunkers beneath the city, Levine is drawn into a plan to eliminate the world’s nuclear arsenals. But how can he be sure that controlled demolition is the endgame? Could he be working towards a controlled apocalypse, a doomsday plot to wipe humanity from the face of the earth?

Report on partial MS in English.

go further